Recruiter: A Day In the Life Of~

by Pollzable

Dear Readers,

I apologise. It has been more than a month and I do realise that. Unfortunately Germany got very cold very suddenly and I, being the Fun-Loving-Summer-Chic, was too slow to exchange my skirts and tank tops for scarves and thick woolly vintage jumpers resulting in a two week long flu. (And sharing food with my flu-ridden boyfriend probably didn’t help either….!)

But I am back now and back with more enthusiasm and excitement than EVER! This month will therefore have TWO exciting blog posts for you to indulge yourselves with.

Now as you may or may not know, I am doing my seven months in Germany with the multilingual recruitment company, Euro London Appointments, in the bustling city of Frankfurt! This blog will be a day in the life of a recruiter 🙂

German Section:

Mein Tagesablauf

Outside my building, Goethestrasse 🙂

Der Arbeitstag fing täglich um neun Uhr an, deshalb muss ich um acht Uhr aufwachen, sodass ich meine Haare waschen und duschen  können. 

IMG_6729

Mein Zimmer

Normalerweise, weil ich so müde bin, fahre ich mit dem S-Bahn nach der Arbeit. Es kostet EUR1.60 und der Reise dauert nur fünf Minuten, deswegen kann ich manchmals ein bisschen später aufstehen. 

IMG_6740

Ich steige am Hauptwache aus und gehe zum Fuss nach dem Büro. 

IMG_6739

The life of a recruiter is actually surprisingly exciting. After I get into the office, I then make myself a nice cuppa tea to help perk myself up before setting up my lovely desk. Luckily, I get to sit right next to the window with the heater behind me, so despite how cold it is outside, I am always warm in the office.

My desk – Cosy right? 😀

So what do I actually do? Well first, I should tell you what a recruitment agency does. Pretty self explanatory, we companies with their recruitment processes. For example, if a company is looking for a “sekretär/in” who speaks German and Chinese and lives in Berlin, we will find a secretary in Berlin who is looking for a new position and can speak German and English, we will present them to the company. Quite simple right? Just think of us as the matchmakers for companies and people.

And what I do is I support the recruiters in any way I can – whether this be finding people who are looking for jobs, or writing job adverts or finding companies who are recruiting or testing doing English tests, I basically help the office in any way I can to get things done faster. This means I spend a lot of my time on social networking sites such as LinkedIn and Xing and on the phone.

IMG_2176

Common phrases I use:

  1. Hallo Euro London Appointments, Sie sprechen mit Lauren.

  2. Wie kann ich Ihnen helfen?

  3. Wie heissen Sie bitte?

  4. Darf ich Ihr Nummer nehmen bitte?

  5. Okay, ein Moment bitte.

  6. Ich biete ihn/sie zuruckzurufen

Um eins Uhr, nehme ich meine Mittagspause. Wenn es sonnig und warm ist, würde ich laufen gehen. Jetzt aber, ist es so richtig kalt draußen, dass ich normalerweise ins Cafe gehen, um mich zu warmen. Oft bin ich in der Kafe Karin’s. Es gibt ein Indie-Cafe und ich liebe die hausgemachte Kuchen und Chai Tea Latte mit Elefant-Vanille.

IMG_0097

Es ist manchmal teuer, und nicht so gesund, aber es ist wirlich lecker! 🙂

Dann muss ich von zwei bis fünf. Manchmal bleibe ich ein bisschen mehr, weil ich so viel zu tun habe. Danach, gehe ich wieder nach Hause.

And that is my day! Usually once I get home, I am so tired that I end up just watching TV or reading until I go to sleep, however I do try to go out at least once a week for some sort of special event (last night I went on a historical murder-mystery tour of Frankfurt!).

However, whilst that is an overview of my day, life in recruitment is often very varied. It is quite a fast moving industry, so we are always getting in new recruiters to join our team. This is the team I started out with:

IMG_8706

Coworker selfie~

IMG_6620

#amazingworkmates

IMG_7877

I am working, I promise!

One of the things I love about working for Euro London is that everyday is amazing. Yes, I have to work hard but I am learning so much and I am surrounded by amazing people. They are truly an amazing group of people, so international and all with so many different stories to tell of all their previous travels… I am constantly discovering new countries and places to add to my ever-growing-list-of-places-to-visit! Not to mention everyone can bake SO well (as I soon discovered from out weekly ‘cake-o’clock’ sessions every Friday 😉

Overall, I am really REALLY grateful to have got accepted into this amazing company. It has been an absolute ball so far and I cannot wait to learn more about this industry!

IMG_2188

And with that, we have reached the end of this post. Thank you so much again for reading, I hope you have learnt a little about recruitment and also life in Germany! As always, please leave a comment and I will see you again in a few weeks 😉

xoxo